Integrating sass compilation

K
  • 24 May '14

Thoughts on using something like django-compressor or django-pipeline to streamline stylesheet compilation. Not particularly necessary, but would reduce the redundancy of sass and css files at the cost of some dependencies.

django-compressor would also be nice to have for any theme system, as it would tie the sass to the templates. Then both templates and sass could be packaged and distributed independently without much hassle.

nitely
Esteban C Borsani
  • 26 May '14

I like the idea, I'll check it out
Have you used it before?

K
  • 26 May '14

I've had some great experiences with django-compressor. I've actually already got it mostly working with spirit.
The only drawback I've had is dealing with relative imports. Atm, I'm using an ugly hack to
cd before compiling
which isn't particularly portable. I have some ideas for a rudimentary theme plugin system using this
that I hope to share soon.

K
  • 26 May '14

Proof-of-concept theme plugin system is working on my theme branch. With a sample theme here, its nothing but a modified colorscheme. I've only got the category page using the theme currently.

A theme class is just a set of directories and django-compressor options. The class needs to be inserted with entry points. Then it can override any template by dropping it in templates/spirit/theme_name/template_name, static files can be referenced under {{ STATIC_URL }}/spirit/themes/theme_name/static_file.

nitely
Esteban C Borsani
  • 27 May '14

Wow, It looks good.

What I don't like is having to modify the render call on every view...
I was thinking in using a middleware to change the template on the fly... but I'm not sure it's even possible. Reading upon process_template_response makes me think it is.

Overall, it looks like a good start, I'll try it later

K
  • 27 May '14